NYSE – NextGen Bootcamp Day 1

Standard

photo 1This week (January 7th-11th) I am lucky enough to be participating in a program at The New York Stock Exchange Euronext called NextGen Bootcamp.  It’s a relatively new program where NYSE hosts college students (there is 18 of us) for a week-long internship designed to provide real-world work experience, mentorsphoto 1 (2)hip, tools and advice to best prepare us for pretty much the rest of our careers.  We learn about everything from HR to finance this week as well as engage in a lot of networking events!

So here I am, New York City.  My dream city doing exactly what I love.  After I found out I was accepted into this program I had to pick a business vertical of my interest-I chose capital markets!  I want to write about my week on here so not only my family and friends can read about it but so I can look back on it!  Ready?

Monday January 7

8:30am-9:15am 

8:20am I made it, in one piece with green tea in hand, to Wall Street!  Go me.  Since I have already been to NYSE I knew exactly where to go and what I needed to do.  Once checking into security I made my way into the lobby where a lovely chinese woman greeted me asking if I was there for the China Economic Conference.  I politely said no and found my way to the “bootcamp” waiting area.  As soon as I sat down, about 100 chinese people walked in for the conference the woman who greeted me was referring to….what made her think I was going to be apart of that in any way, shape, or form???  At least I got a good laugh.  After receiving my security badge which gets me from place to place and putting my official name tag (it’s SUPER official) on my shirt, I made my way to the board room where breakfast was served as well as an introduction from the VP Gregg Krowitz.photo 3

9:15am

Our first tour, as a group, to the trading floor!!!  I thought the first time I was on the floor was a “keep you on your toes” kind of experience, but the second time was just as good.  Walking onto the floor and seeing millions of dollars being traded in just a small room is something which honestly boggles your mind.

10:45am

Around this time, we met our business analyst mentors!  My department is capital markets so I was paired up with one other guy in our group and two BA mentors-Dean and Julie…I think that’s there names.  They both are working for NYSE as BA’s and it is each their first year.  We talked for quite some time and I realized they were probably going to teach me more than I could ever imagine.

11:45am

The CEO of NYSE Euronext, Duncan Niederauer, came into the board room at about this time and sat right down next to us and talked to us while we ate lunch.  He insisted on taking risks, listening to your heart,  and not listening to those conventional ways of doing things photo 2and making your own path.  P.S. lunch was delicious-I ate a big fresh salad, a yummy pasta dish, and a juicy tomato  basil, and pesto sandwich.

1pm

1pm came around and my day was already a whirlwind, but now it was time to crack down and get serious.  My BA’s walked me to their floor and to my surprise, showed me to my very own desk!  That was very cool, by the way.  I was shown to my desk while my project for the week was explained to me.  Each day we work on our department project and then Friday we get to present it to everyone!  Bobby, the guy in my group, and I have to analyze all the best and worst IPO performances of 2012.  I walked into this project thinking to myself “oh this is easy.”  Well we were given almost 4 hours today, to work on it, and I found myself scratching my head A LOT.  Finally, after staring at one company’s stock chart for a straight 47 minutes I figured out why the price of the stock dropped so drastically.  I can’t explain the satisfaction that came over me to know I did something right!

4pm

The NYSE closing bell ringing at 4pm each day trading takes place.  Guess who rang the closing bell today?  All of us.  It’s so honorable that a lot of the brokers on the floor were making comments on how they have worked there for over 20 years and have yet to stand up there to ring the bell!  Everyone was very excited for us and we received a lot of claps, cheers, and hugs.  The picture all the way at the bottom is the view from the top as well as the buttons to press!!!!  Side note: that bell is SO LOUD.  Here’s a video of us closing it up: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=nn4Rt8jC4psphoto 4

5pm

At 5pm we were invited to the card room where there was a lot of pizza and ping pong tables set up!  Here, I have to give a small shout-out to Patrick because I have some very exciting news for him: After talking a lot with two girls I met, the three of us realized what we had in common-our love for How I Met Your Mother.  Well here’s the exciting news Patrick-guess where I am going Wednesday after we get out of work?  MacLaren’s.

Goodnight everyone!  I can’t wait to share more with you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “NYSE – NextGen Bootcamp Day 1

  1. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

Leave a Reply

