Summer Nights

Standard

Well it’s official; my summer is coming to an end.  My friends are beginning to head back to school and I already miss them terribly.  I’m going to miss all of these summer nights but I always feel that way when it’s time for us to head back to our college life.

Last night was a blast.  Reminded me of senior year of high school.  I jumped in the jeep and drove down the merit to Conner’s house while blasting my high school playlist of Ke$ha, Jesse McCartney, and Iyaz.  My car may have been swerving around between the left and right lane but the music was too good to not dance to.  As I got off the exit I realized every Friday and Saturday night in high school around 8pm was spent blasting pop music down the merit parkway.  Of course this made me miss all those high school days and made me excited to see my friends.

All the girls were getting ready in Conner’s room like usual and Makena was playing some awesome international music.  Once Danielle nagged all of us about 78 times to get going we jumped in the car and naturally Ke$ha was blasting as we pulled up to Tori’s house.

Walking into the party to be greeted with screams, hugs, and smiles was half the fun.  The other half was getting thrown into the pool…multiple times.

1:30 am hit and we all were craving Merit Canteen.  If you haven’t been here…GO.  It’s in the heart of Bridgeport and has been featured on The Travel Channel  multiple times for best places to grab a burger!  After ordering mac & cheese bites, 2 orders of french fries, chicken nuggets, grilled cheese, a burger, 2 milkshakes, and a coke we kinda knew it was time to leave.

So that is a typical summer night 203 style…30 college kids squeezed into a pool house singing, dancing, and chanting songs followed by the purchase of way too much food from Merit Canteen….oh those summer nights.

We used to have these nights every night during the summer going into college.  Now as each summer passes, we spend fewer and fewer nights doing this.  I guess it’s all part of growing up, getting real jobs, and having responsibilities.  Well, those summer nights will always have a special place in my heart and when they happen it’s guaranteed to be a good time.

Leave a Reply

